NOTE: Most of the KSAG's documents are in PDF format, so if
you don't already have
a PDF reader on your computer, you should download one.
(I use the free and relatively
fast-loading "PDF-Xchange Viewer" from
SPECIAL NOTE FOR THOSE WHO ALREADY HAVE A KS CCH LICENSE: As a CCH licensee, you need to know the current law, not
just what it was when you took
your training. Here is a link to a SUMMARY of recent changes to the Kansas Personal
and Family Protection Act (a.k.a. PFPA) that took effect
1 July 2014.
And if you are interested in "Constitutional Carry" (a.k.a. "Permitless
Carry"), you can
read the bill
that was signed by Governor Brownback on 2 April 2015.
Kansans have a "shall-issue" right to carry a concealed handgun!
If you are thinking about taking a CCH course, you can:
If you are relatively new to shooting (maybe your significant-other just
gave you a new pistol?),
or if you are afraid you might not be able to meet the CCH
of 18 "hits" on a target which is a little larger than the average
picnic paper plate after shooting:
5 shots one-hand at 3 yards,
10 shots two-hand at 7 yards, and
10 shots two-hand at 10 yards,
then take some paper plates to a shooting range and practice!
If you can make the required
hits on a paper plate, you should be able to do the same
on the even-bigger approved target!
(I use the
target; the KSAG has also approved the
OR you can take my
FIRST Steps Pistol course before
taking your CCH training.
I've offered Kansas CCH (Concealed-Carry Handgun) training
"on demand" since 2006,
but, what with every gun shop and shooting range now offering
do-it-all-in-one-8-hour-day classes and with the passing of Kansas "Constitutional Carry" (2015
Senate Bill 45), the one-
person-at-a-time "demand" for my
two-4-hour-sessions-scheduled-at-your-convenience classes has mostly evaporated. However, I do still accept
applications from groups of
five or more. If you and
four or more friends want to choose your owndate-pairs,
and if the dates you choose fit my schedule, I'll be
happy to schedule a class for your
group on those dates!
NOTE:: I need at least a week to prepare and
print updated training manuals,
so please don't tell me "We want a class tomorrow"!
(Re-)Visit WHAT A CCH LICENSE COSTS
for more details.
Take these final steps after you have
completed a training course and have received your
"Certificate of Completion".
to watch a (staged) 64-second (5 MB) video of someone responding
to an attempted robbery by shooting the perpetrator
in a NON-CCH-approved fashion.
to watch a 59-second (3 MB) video of an old man foiling an attempted
robbery at a Florida Internet Cafe in a NON-CCH-approved
fashion (he continues shooting
after the robbery is over, even shooting out the door
toward the street).
I understand the first Kansas CCH law was modeled on the Arizona CCW
Weapon) law, and you can read what was -- before AZ adopted
(see this Wikipedia article) -- the AZ Instructor's
Training Manual and Version 15.1 of
Michael P. Anthony's EXCELLENT "Legal Issues Relating to
the Use of Deadly Force" here.
If you still have questions about the CCH license, the licensing
process, or anything else, just ask:
My email address is mcalhoun AT sdf DOT org (with obvious
substitutions for AT and DOT).
Please include "CCH" in the subject line, and if you write
and don't hear back from me within a
few days, feel free to CALL me at 785-539-4448
Five boxes preserve our freedoms: soap, ballot,
witness, jury, and cartridge. PhD EE - Barbershop Tenor - Amateur Radio Operator (W0PBV)
NRA "Lifer" & Certified Rifle, Pistol, and Home-Firearm-Safety
Certified Instructor for Kansas CCH (Concealed-Carry Handgun) license
This page was last modified on Thursday, 23 April, 2015.